How Far Back Can The IRS Audit You?

References

  1. “9 Red Flags That Could Trigger a Tax Audit.” U.S. News & World Report, U.S. News & World Report, money.usnews.com/money/personal-finance/slideshows/9-red-flags-that-could-trigger-a-tax-audit.
  2. “Answers to Common Questions About IRS Audits.” The Law Office of Tony Ramos P.C., 20 Oct. 2020, tonyramoslaw.com/blog/answers-to-common-questions-about-irs-audits/.
  3. Backman, Maurie. “You May Have a Greater Chance of Being Audited in 2020.” The Motley Fool, The Motley Fool, 18 Dec. 2019, www.fool.com/taxes/2019/12/18/you-may-have-a-greater-chance-of-being-audited-in.aspx.
  4. Bird, Beverly. “Watch Out for These Tax Audit Triggers.” The Balance, www.thebalance.com/top-audit-triggers-that-catch-irs-attention-4153034.
  5. Blackstone, Victoria Lee. “How Often Does the IRS Audit Previous Tax Years?” Finance, 6 Mar. 2019, finance.zacks.com/irs-audit-previous-tax-years-9457.html.
  6. Block, H&r. “Tax Tips: How Long Does the IRS Have to Audit Your Tax Return? There Are Two Answers.” The Laconia Daily Sun, 20 July 2020, www.laconiadailysun.com/business/local/tax-tips-how-long-does-the-irs-have-to-audit-your-tax-return-there-are/article_b9bcefb8-b7c4-11ea-9d21-8b9b503c0e53.html.
  7. Blokhin, Andriy. “Can the IRS Audit You After a Refund?” Investopedia, Investopedia, 29 Sept. 2020, www.investopedia.com/ask/answers/110415/can-irs-audit-you-after-refund.asp.
  8. “Can the IRS Audit You More Than Once?” Block Advisors, 9 Apr. 2019, web.blockadvisors.com/can-get-irs-audited/.
  9. Deardrebit.com, www.deardrebit.com/how-far-back-can-the-irs-go-for-auditing/.
  10. Defenders, Top Tax. Top 8 Reasons the IRS Will Audit You, www.toptaxdefenders.com/blog/bid/203133/top-8-reasons-the-irs-will-audit-you.
  11. FreshBooks. “How Long Do IRS Audits Take?” FreshBooks, 20 July 2020, www.freshbooks.com/hub/taxes/how-long-do-irs-audits-take.
  12. Grigg, Billie Anne. “IRS Audit: How Business Owners Can Prepare for and Pass an Audit.” Fundera, Fundera, 18 Nov. 2020, www.fundera.com/blog/irs-audit.
  13. “Help! I’m Being Audited by the IRS and I Have No Receipts.” Community Tax, 22 Feb. 2019, www.communitytax.com/being-audited-by-irs-and-no-receipts/.
  14. “How Far Back Can the IRS Audit / What Is the IRS Audit Statute of Limitations? – Newport Beach Tax Attorney, Orange County/Irvine: Wilson Tax Law.” Newport Beach Tax Attorney, Orange County/Irvine | Wilson Tax Law, 12 Apr. 2015, wilsontaxlaw.com/newsresources/irs-tax-faqs/how-far-back-can-irs-audit-what-statute-limitations/.
  15. “How Far Back Can the IRS Audit You? (New) 2021.” International Tax Attorney | IRS Offshore Voluntary Disclosure, 4 Nov. 2020, www.goldinglawyers.com/how-far-back-can-irs-audit-you/.
  16. “How Far Back Can The Irs Audit You?” The Law Dictionary, 12 Sept. 2014, thelawdictionary.org/article/how-far-back-can-the-irs-audit-you/.
  17. “How Far Back Can the IRS Audit Your Accounts and Financial Information?” Silver Tax Group, 12 Nov. 2020, silvertaxgroup.com/accounts-financials-audits/.
  18. “How Far Back Can the IRS Audit?” SOLVABLE, 15 Sept. 2020, www.solvable.com/tax-help/how-far-back-can-the-irs-audit/.
  19. “How Far Back Can The IRS Go For Unfiled Taxes?” Abajian Law, 19 Sept. 2019, abajianlaw.com/tax-law/how-far-back-can-irs-audit/.
  20. “How Long Does the IRS Have to Audit Your Tax Return.” Diamond & Associates CPAs, 29 May 2018, diamondcpas.com/far-back-can-irs-audit/.
  21. “How Long Does the IRS Have to Audit Your Tax Return? There Are Two Answers.” H&R Block, 29 Apr. 2020, www.hrblock.com/tax-center/irs/audits-and-tax-notices/how-long-does-irs-have-to-audit/.
  22. “How Many Years Back Can the IRS Audit.” Tax Debt Advisors, taxdebtadvisors.com/how-many-years-back-can-the-irs-audit.html.
  23. “How to Deal with the IRS During a Personal Tax Audit; Rights & Tips.” Debt.org, 30 Nov. 2020, www.debt.org/tax/irs-audit/.
  24. “If I Face an IRS Audit, How Many Years Can I Be Held Responsible?” Cook CPA Group, 25 Jan. 2018, www.cookcpagroup.com/face-irs-audit-how-many-years-can-be-held-responsible/.
  25. “IRS Audit and Investigation Priorities Now That the IRS Is Back in Business: Insights: Greenberg Traurig LLP.” Insights | Greenberg Traurig LLP, www.gtlaw.com/en/insights/2020/7/irs-audit-and-investigation-priorities-now-that-the-irs-is-back-in-business.
  26. “IRS Audit FAQs.” IRS Mind, 12 Nov. 2020, www.irsmind.com/irs-audits/irs-audit-faqs/.
  27. “IRS Audit Statute of Limitations: Years Back IRS Audits Tax Returns.” Tax Debt Help, 23 June 2015, www.taxdebthelp.com/tax-problems/tax-audit/audit-statute-of-limitations.
  28. “IRS Audits.” Internal Revenue Service, www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/irs-audits.
  29. “IRS Can Audit for Three Years, Six, or Forever: Here’s How to Tell.” American Bar Association, www.americanbar.org/groups/business_law/publications/blt/2017/08/06_wood/.
  30. “IRS Tax Audits 101.” Polston Tax, 9 May 2019, polstontax.com/irs-tax-audits-101/.
  31. Klasing, Published by  David. “How Far Back Can IRS Audit?: The IRS Audit Process Timeline.” How Far Back Can IRS Audit? | The IRS Audit Process Timeline, 17 Apr. 2020, klasing-associates.com/many-years-can-irs-audit-go-back/.
  32. Knueven, Liz. “A Tax Audit Is an IRS Investigation into Whether You Paid the Right Taxes, and It’s Not Just for the Super-Rich.” Business Insider, Business Insider, 29 Sept. 2020, www.businessinsider.com/personal-finance/tax-audit.
  33. Martin, Ray. “How Far Back Can the IRS Audit You?” CBS News, CBS Interactive, 24 Sept. 2015, www.cbsnews.com/news/how-far-back-can-the-irs-audit-you/.
  34. McCormally, Kevin, and Rocky Mengle. “How to Handle an IRS Audit of Your Tax Return.” Kiplinger, Kiplinger, 12 Mar. 2020, www.kiplinger.com/article/taxes/t056-c005-s001-how-to-handle-an-irs-audit-of-your-tax-return.html.
  35. McMillin, David. “How Long Should You Keep IRS Tax Records?” Bankrate, www.bankrate.com/taxes/how-long-should-you-keep-tax-records/.
  36. NerdWallet. “7 Reasons the IRS Will Audit You.” NerdWallet, 7 Oct. 2020, www.nerdwallet.com/article/taxes/reasons-irs-audit.
  37. Nikolakopulos, Alia. “How Far Back Can I Challenge an IRS Audit?” Budgeting Money – The Nest, 21 Nov. 2017, budgeting.thenest.com/far-back-can-challenge-irs-audit-22760.html.
  38. Paladini Law – A Tax Law Firm. “How Far Back Can the IRS Audit You?” Paladini Law, 14 May 2020, paladinilaw.com/years-irs-audit-go-back/.
  39. Paul Kiel, Jesse Eisinger. “Who’s More Likely to Be Audited: A Person Making $20,000 – or $400,000?” ProPublica, www.propublica.org/article/earned-income-tax-credit-irs-audit-working-poor.
  40. Picchi, Aimee. “Taxes 2020: These Two Groups of Taxpayers Face the Highest Audit Rates.” USA Today, Gannett Satellite Information Network, 3 Feb. 2020, www.usatoday.com/story/money/2020/01/31/taxes-2020-audits-most-likely-happen-these-two-groups/4552393002/.
  41. Pimplaskar, Written by:  Evelyn, and Evelyn Pimplaskar. “What Are Your Chances of an IRS Audit?: Credit Karma Tax®.” Credit Karma, 12 Dec. 2020, www.creditkarma.com/tax/i/irs-audit-chances.
  42. “How Long Does the IRS Have to Audit Your Return.” RSS, www.chamberlainlaw.com/tax-blawg/how-long-does-the-irs-have-to-audit-your-return.
  43. Sam Brotman, JD. “How Many Years Back Does the IRS Go in an Audit?” Tax Attorney San Diego, www.sambrotman.com/video-blog/how-many-years-back-does-the-irs-go-in-an-audit.
  44. Steber, Mark. What Is the Statute of Limitations for an IRS Audit?, Jackson Hewitt, 25 Aug. 2020, www.jacksonhewitt.com/tax-help/tax-tips-topics/irs-audits-notices/what-is-the-statute-of-limitations-for-an-irs-audit/.
  45. Stephen Fishman, J.D. “What Are the Chances of Being Audited?” Www.nolo.com, Nolo, 20 May 2019, www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/what-are-the-odds-being-audited.html.
  46. TaxAudit, www.taxaudit.com/tax-audit-blog/how-long-does-the-irs-have-to-complete-an-audit.
  47. “Top 10 IRS Audit Triggers and What to Do If Audited.” Accion, us.accion.org/resource/top-10-irs-audit-triggers-and-what-do-if-audited/.
  48. Toups, Posted by  Bishop, and Bishop Toups. “Filing Tax Returns: If You Haven’t Filed and Other Concerns.” Law Offices of Daily & Toups, 31 Jan. 2020, taxattorneydaily.com/filing-tax-returns/.
  49. TurboTax – Taxes, Income Tax. “Top 5 Myths About Tax Audits.” TurboTax Tax Tips & Videos, turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/irs-tax-return/top-5-myths-about-tax-audits/L5W989jzq.
  50. Washington, Kemberley. “What the IRS Doesn’t Want You to Know About Audits.” CNBC, CNBC, 22 Mar. 2013, www.cnbc.com/id/100567579.
  51. Wood, Robert W. “IRS Audit Period Is 3 Years, 6 Years Or Forever: How To Cut Your Risk.” Forbes, Forbes Magazine, 15 Dec. 2020, www.forbes.com/sites/robertwood/2019/10/08/irs-audit-period-is-3-years-6-years-or-forever-how-to-cut-your-risk/?sh=337ae6517ba6.