California Corporate Tax Rate – All Your Questions Answered

References

  1. “The 2019 Tax Resource.” California Corporate Tax Rates – 2020, www.tax-rates.org/california/corporate-income-tax.
  2. Adler, Hank. “Opinion | A California Plan to Chase Away the Rich, Then Keep Stalking Them.” The Wall Street Journal, Dow Jones & Company, 18 Dec. 2020, www.wsj.com/articles/a-california-plan-to-chase-away-the-rich-then-keep-stalking-them-11608331448.
  3. Amadeo, Kimberly. “How the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act Changes Corporate Taxes.” The Balance, 31 Aug. 2020, www.thebalance.com/corporate-income-tax-definition-history-effective-rate-3306024.
  4. “A Better Way to Tax U.S. Businesses.” Harvard Business Review, 1 Aug. 2014, hbr.org/2012/07/a-better-way-to-tax-us-businesses.
  5. Board, Frachise Tax. “C Corporations.” C Corporations | FTB.ca.gov, www.ftb.ca.gov/file/business/types/corporations/c-corporations.html.
  6. Board, Franchise Tax. “Business Tax Rates.” Business Tax Rates | FTB.ca.gov, www.ftb.ca.gov/file/business/tax-rates.html.
  7. Board, Franchise Tax. “S Corporations Business Type.” S Corporations | FTB.ca.gov, www.ftb.ca.gov/file/business/types/corporations/s-corporations.html.
  8. Borenstein, Daniel. “Borenstein: California Can’t Afford to Tax Its Way out of the Pandemic.” The Mercury News, The Mercury News, 19 Dec. 2020, www.mercurynews.com/2020/12/18/borenstein-california-cant-afford-to-tax-its-way-out-of-the-pandemic/.
  9. “California Corporate Tax Rate: UpCounsel 2020.” UpCounsel, www.upcounsel.com/california-corporate-tax-rate.
  10. “California Enacted Three Major Tax Bills.” The National Law Review, www.natlawreview.com/article/california-enacted-three-major-tax-bills.
  11. “California Income Tax Calculator.” SmartAsset, smartasset.com/taxes/california-tax-calculator.
  12. “California Sales Tax Rate, Rates Calculator & Guide – Avalara.” Taxrates, www.avalara.com/taxrates/en/state-rates/california.html.
  13. “California Tax Laws.” Findlaw, statelaws.findlaw.com/california-law/california-tax-laws.html.
  14. “California Tax Rates & Rankings: California State Taxes.” Tax Foundation, Tax Foundation, taxfoundation.org/state/california/.
  15. “California Wealth and Exit Tax Would Be An Unconstitutional Disaster.” National Taxpayers Union, www.ntu.org/foundation/detail/california-wealth-and-exit-tax-would-be-an-unconstitutional-disaster.
  16. “California.” Internal Revenue Service, www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/california.
  17. Cammenga, Janelle. “State Corporate Income Tax Rates and Brackets for 2020.” Tax Foundation, 30 Nov. 2020, taxfoundation.org/state-corporate-income-tax-rates-brackets-2020/.
  18. Cammenga, Janelle. “State Corporate Income Tax Rates and Brackets for 2020.” Tax Foundation, 30 Nov. 2020, taxfoundation.org/state-corporate-income-tax-rates-brackets-2020/.
  19. The Center Square. “California Posts a Combined Corporate Tax Rate of 28%.” The Center Square, 3 June 2020, www.thecentersquare.com/california/california-posts-a-combined-corporate-tax-rate-of-28/article_81aae806-6926-11ea-b0d9-43f0b9d3aa7d.html.
  20. “Corporations Pay Far Less of Their California Income in State Taxes Than a Generation Ago – Even Amid COVID-19.” California Budget & Policy Center, 17 June 2020, calbudgetcenter.org/resources/corporations-pay-far-less-of-their-income-in-state-taxes/.
  21. David M. Steingold, Contributing Author. “California State Business Income Tax.” Www.nolo.com, Nolo, 1 July 2020, www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/california-state-business-income-tax.html.
  22. DePersio, Greg. “Taxes in California for Small Business: The Basics.” Investopedia, Investopedia, 20 Dec. 2020, www.investopedia.com/articles/personal-finance/102115/taxes-california-small-business-basics.asp.
  23. “Editorial: California Is Clobbering Small Businesses with a Retroactive Tax Grab.” Yahoo! News, Yahoo!, news.yahoo.com/editorial-california-clobbering-small-businesses-110049200.html.
  24. “Fact Sheet: Corporate Tax Rates.” Americans For Tax Fairness, americansfortaxfairness.org/tax-fairness-briefing-booklet/fact-sheet-corporate-tax-rates/.
  25. “Filing a State Income Tax Return.” Filing a State Income Tax Return | International Office, internationaloffice.berkeley.edu/taxes/statetax.
  26. Frances Ellington. “California: Understanding the Tax Burden.” GHJ, www.greenhassonjanks.com/blog/california-understanding-the-tax-burden.
  27. Hoffower, Hillary. “Elon Musk Won’t Pay Income Tax in His New Home State of Texas, but He’s Not off the Hook in California.” Business Insider, Business Insider, 23 Dec. 2020, www.businessinsider.com/how-much-does-elon-musk-pay-taxes-california-texas-2020-12.
  28. “How Does the Corporate Income Tax Work?” Tax Policy Center, www.taxpolicycenter.org/briefing-book/how-does-corporate-income-tax-work.
  29. Kagan, Julia. “Corporate Tax.” Investopedia, Investopedia, 11 Dec. 2020, www.investopedia.com/terms/c/corporatetax.asp.
  30. Kurtzleben, Danielle. “FACT CHECK: Does The U.S. Have The Highest Corporate Tax Rate In The World?” NPR, NPR, 7 Aug. 2017, www.npr.org/2017/08/07/541797699/fact-check-does-the-u-s-have-the-highest-corporate-tax-rate-in-the-world.
  31. Lin, Judy. “The Open Secret about California Taxes.” CalMatters, 17 Sept. 2020, calmatters.org/explainers/the-open-secret-about-california-taxes/.
  32. Orem, Tina. “California State Tax: 2020 Rates, Who Has to Pay.” NerdWallet, 4 Dec. 2020, www.nerdwallet.com/article/taxes/california-state-tax.
  33. Pender, Kathleen. “California Got the Smallest Tax Cut from 2017 Tax Law, Report Says.” SFChronicle.com, San Francisco Chronicle, 31 Oct. 2020, www.sfchronicle.com/business/networth/article/California-got-the-smallest-tax-cut-from-2017-tax-15690023.php.
  34. Pomerleau, Kyle. “US Corporate Income Tax Now More Competitive.” Tax Foundation, 30 July 2020, taxfoundation.org/us-corporate-income-tax-more-competitive/.
  35. Robtfrank. “Tax Hike on California Millionaires Would Create 54% Tax Rate.” CNBC, CNBC, 30 July 2020, www.cnbc.com/2020/07/30/tax-hike-on-california-millionaires-would-create-54percent-tax-rate.html.
  36. Sit, Harry. “I Moved out of California in Retirement – but It Wasn’t Because of Taxes.” MarketWatch, MarketWatch, 3 Dec. 2020, www.marketwatch.com/story/i-moved-out-of-california-in-retirement-but-it-wasnt-because-of-taxes-11606938581.
  37. “Spending Through California’s Tax Code.” California Budget & Policy Center, 4 Oct. 2016, calbudgetcenter.org/resources/spending-californias-tax-code/.
  38. “Tax Law.” Sacramento County Public Law Library, saclaw.org/law-101/tax-topic/.
  39. “Tax Year 2019 California Income Tax Brackets TY 2019 – 2020.” Federal and State Income Tax Brackets for 2020, www.tax-brackets.org/californiataxtable.
  40. Tonya Moreno, CPA. “Prepare to Pay Hefty Taxes in California If You Live, Work, or Play There.” The Balance, 17 May 2020, www.thebalance.com/california-state-taxes-amongst-the-highest-in-the-nation-3193244.
  41. Tonya Moreno, CPA. “What You Need to Know About California Personal Income Tax in 2020.” The Balance, www.thebalance.com/california-personal-income-tax-3193243.
  42. TurboTax – Taxes, Income Tax. “Multiple States-Where To File.” TurboTax Tax Tips & Videos, turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/state-taxes/multiple-states-where-to-file/L5NxnNH21.
  43. “United States Federal Corporate Tax Rate1909-2020 Data: 2021-2022 Forecast.” United States Federal Corporate Tax Rate | 1909-2020 Data | 2021-2022 Forecast, tradingeconomics.com/united-states/corporate-tax-rate.
  44. “United States.” United States – Corporate – Taxes on Corporate Income, taxsummaries.pwc.com/united-states/corporate/taxes-on-corporate-income.
  45. “What’s the Corporate Tax Rate? Federal & State Rates.” Patriot Software, 13 Aug. 2019, www.patriotsoftware.com/blog/accounting/corporate-tax-rate/.
  46. Wood, Robert W. “5 Unsettling California Tax Rules.” Forbes, Forbes Magazine, 12 Dec. 2019, www.forbes.com/sites/robertwood/2019/12/12/5-unsettling-california-tax-rules/?sh=311f25557779.
  47. Wood, Robert W. “California 13.3% Tax Rate May Be Raised To 16.8%…Retroactively.” Forbes, Forbes Magazine, 15 Dec. 2020, www.forbes.com/sites/robertwood/2020/08/03/california-133-tax-rate-may-be-raised-to-168retroactively/?sh=794ef423c026.
  48. Wood, Robert W. “California Lost Elon Musk, Will 13.3% Tax Or Increases Get You?” Forbes, Forbes Magazine, 29 Dec. 2020, www.forbes.com/sites/robertwood/2021/12/29/california-lost-elon-musk-will-133-tax-or-increases-get-you/?sh=5003a5ae59d5.