Audited? What You Need To Worry About

References

  1. “10 Tips from 4 (Former) State Tax Auditors.” US, www.avalara.com/us/en/learn/whitepapers/10-tips-4-former-state-tax-auditors.html.
  2. “4 Tax Return Red Flags That Could Get You Audited.” NEA Member Benefits, www.neamb.com/personal-finance/4-tax-return-red-flags-that-could-get-you-audited.
  3. “5 Reasons to Stop Worrying About a Tax Audit.” TaxAct Blog, 5 Dec. 2017, blog.taxact.com/5-reasons-stop-worrying-tax-audit/.
  4. “6 Reasons Why Businesses Get Audited (and How to Avoid Them).” Software Buying Tips and Advice for Businesses, blog.capterra.com/why-do-businesses-get-audited/.
  5. Admin. “What Happens If You Get Audited?” Crescent Tax Filing Blog, 24 July 2020, www.crescenttaxfiling.com/blog/what-happens-if-you-get-audited/.
  6. “What to Do When You Receive an IRS Audit Letter – Atlanta Tax Lawyers.” Alyssa Maloof Whatley, 12 Nov. 2020, atltaxlawyers.com/what-to-do-when-you-receive-an-irs-audit-letter/.
  7. Anzalone, Tade. “3 Red Flags That Can Get You Audited.” Stride Blog, Stride Blog, 13 Feb. 2020, blog.stridehealth.com/post/3-red-flags-trigger-audit.
  8. Backman, Maurie. “What Happens If You Get Audited?” The Motley Fool, The Motley Fool, 23 Dec. 2016, www.fool.com/retirement/2016/12/23/what-happens-if-you-get-audited.aspx.
  9. Bird, Beverly. “Watch Out for These Tax Audit Triggers.” The Balance, www.thebalance.com/top-audit-triggers-that-catch-irs-attention-4153034.
  10. “Can the IRS Audit You More Than Once?” Block Advisors, 9 Apr. 2019, web.blockadvisors.com/can-get-irs-audited/.
  11. “What Are the Chances of Being Audited?” Money Under 30, www.moneyunder30.com/chances-being-audited.
  12. Defenders, Top Tax. Top 8 Reasons the IRS Will Audit You, www.toptaxdefenders.com/blog/bid/203133/top-8-reasons-the-irs-will-audit-you.
  13. FreshBooks. “How Long Do IRS Audits Take?” FreshBooks, 20 July 2020, www.freshbooks.com/hub/taxes/how-long-do-irs-audits-take.
  14. Golden, Ben. “What Does It Mean to Be Audited at Work?” Golden Tax Relief, 16 July 2020, goldentaxrelief.com/what-does-it-mean-to-be-audited-at-work/.
  15. Grigg, Billie Anne. “IRS Audit: How Business Owners Can Prepare for and Pass an Audit.” Fundera, Fundera, 18 Nov. 2020, www.fundera.com/blog/irs-audit.
  16. “Help! I’m Being Audited by the IRS and I Have No Receipts.” Community Tax, 22 Feb. 2019, www.communitytax.com/being-audited-by-irs-and-no-receipts/.
  17. “How an IRS Audit Works-and How to Prevent One: Bench Accounting.” Bench, bench.co/blog/tax-tips/irs-audit/.
  18. “How to Deal with the IRS During a Personal Tax Audit; Rights & Tips.” Debt.org, 30 Nov. 2020, www.debt.org/tax/irs-audit/.
  19. “How to Handle a Business Audit.” Business News Daily, www.businessnewsdaily.com/8993-handle-tax-audit.html.
  20. “How to Survive an IRS Tax Audit.” U.S. News & World Report, U.S. News & World Report, money.usnews.com/money/personal-finance/taxes/articles/how-to-survive-an-irs-tax-audit.
  21. “If You Get Audited by the IRS, What Happens?: Insight into IRS Audit.” Patriot Software, 13 Mar. 2020, www.patriotsoftware.com/blog/accounting/what-happens-audited-by-irs-statue-limitations/.
  22. “I’m Being WHAT?! What Does It Mean to Be Audited by the IRS?” Fidelity Tax Relief, 19 Nov. 2020, fidelitytaxrelief.com/im-being-what-what-does-it-mean-to-be-audited-by-the-irs/.
  23. “IRS Audits.” Internal Revenue Service, www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/irs-audits.
  24. Jackson Hewitt. How Do You Know If You’re Being Audited by the IRS, Jackson Hewitt, 14 Sept. 2020, www.jacksonhewitt.com/tax-help/tax-tips-topics/irs-audits-notices/how-do-you-know-if-youre-being-audited-by-the-irs/.
  25. Malgo. “We’re Getting Audited! But What Does It Mean?” Across the Board, 15 Mar. 2019, blog.paylane.com/were-getting-audited-but-what-does-it-mean/.
  26. McCormally, Kevin, and Rocky Mengle. “How to Handle an IRS Audit of Your Tax Return.” Kiplinger, Kiplinger, 12 Mar. 2020, www.kiplinger.com/article/taxes/t056-c005-s001-how-to-handle-an-irs-audit-of-your-tax-return.html.
  27. McMullen, Amanda. “How Does IRS Auditing Work and Will I Get My Refund?” Pocketsense, 31 May 2019, pocketsense.com/irs-auditing-work-refund-7059.html.
  28. McQuerrey, Lisa. “How Soon After You File Will You Know If the IRS Chooses You for an Audit?” Finance, 21 Jan. 2020, finance.zacks.com/soon-after-file-irs-chooses-audit-9846.html.
  29. NerdWallet. “7 Reasons the IRS Will Audit You.” NerdWallet, 7 Oct. 2020, www.nerdwallet.com/article/taxes/reasons-irs-audit.
  30. Jessie Seaman. “Will a State Audit Trigger a Federal Tax Audit?” Community Tax, 18 July 2020, www.communitytax.com/state-audit-trigger-federal-audit/.
  31. Paul Kiel, Jesse Eisinger. “Who’s More Likely to Be Audited: A Person Making $20,000 – or $400,000?” ProPublica, www.propublica.org/article/earned-income-tax-credit-irs-audit-working-poor.
  32. Picchi, Aimee. “Taxes 2020: These Two Groups of Taxpayers Face the Highest Audit Rates.” USA Today, Gannett Satellite Information Network, 3 Feb. 2020, www.usatoday.com/story/money/2020/01/31/taxes-2020-audits-most-likely-happen-these-two-groups/4552393002/.
  33. Pimplaskar, Written by:  Evelyn, and Evelyn Pimplaskar. “What Are Your Chances of an IRS Audit?: Credit Karma Tax®.” Credit Karma, 12 Dec. 2020, www.creditkarma.com/tax/i/irs-audit-chances.
  34. Ramsey Solutions. “What If I Get Audited?” Daveramsey.com, Ramsey Solutions, 4 June 2020, www.daveramsey.com/blog/what-if-i-get-audited.
  35. “State Audit vs. Federal Audit – IRS: Tax Attorney.” State Audit vs. Federal Audit – IRS | Tax Attorney, 31 Aug. 2020, klasing-associates.com/tax-audit-help/irs-and-state-tax-audits/.
  36. Stephen Fishman, J.D. “What Are the Chances of Being Audited?” Www.nolo.com, Nolo, 20 May 2019, www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/what-are-the-odds-being-audited.html.
  37. Team, TaxSlayer Editorial. “What Happens If I Get Audited?” The Official Blog of TaxSlayer, TaxSlayer LLC, 4 July 2020, www.taxslayer.com/blog/what-happens-if-you-get-audited/.
  38. Team, TaxSlayer Pro Blog. “What to Expect in a State vs. a Federal Audit.” TaxSlayer Pro’s Blog for Professional Tax Preparers, TaxSlayer LLC, 1 Sept. 2020, www.taxslayerpro.com/blog/post/state-audit-vs-federal-audit.
  39. Team, TaxSlayer Pro Blog. “What to Expect in a State vs. a Federal Audit.” TaxSlayer Pro’s Blog for Professional Tax Preparers, TaxSlayer LLC, 1 Sept. 2020, www.taxslayerpro.com/blog/post/state-audit-vs-federal-audit.
  40. “Top 10 IRS Audit Triggers and What to Do If Audited.” Accion, us.accion.org/resource/top-10-irs-audit-triggers-and-what-do-if-audited/.
  41. Toups, Bishop. “Winning Your Audit: An In-Depth Guide.” Law Offices of Daily & Toups, 23 Feb. 2020, taxattorneydaily.com/winning-your-audit/.
  42. TurboTax – Taxes, Income Tax. “Top 5 Myths About Tax Audits.” TurboTax Tax Tips & Videos, turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/irs-tax-return/top-5-myths-about-tax-audits/L5W989jzq.
  43. TurboTax – Taxes, Income Tax. “Top Five Ways to Avoid a Tax Audit.” TurboTax Tax Tips & Videos, turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/tax-planning-and-checklists/top-five-ways-to-avoid-a-tax-audit/L2dhSjRS9.
  44. Webb, Candace. “Why Do Companies Get Audited?” Small Business – Chron.com, Chron.com, 21 Nov. 2017, smallbusiness.chron.com/companies-audited-11303.html.
  45. Weltman, Barbara. “How Do IRS Audits Work?” Investopedia, Investopedia, 16 Dec. 2020, www.investopedia.com/articles/personal-finance/032415/how-do-irs-audits-work.asp.
  46. “What Are the Real Chances Your Taxes Will Get Audited by the IRS This Year?” Money, money.com/taxes-getting-audited-irs-2020/.
  47. What Does Being Audited by the IRS Mean?, www.jacksonhewitt.com/tax-help/tax-tips-topics/filing-your-taxes/audits/.
  48. “What Does Being Audited By The IRS Mean?: PriorTax.” PriorTax Blog, 19 Dec. 2019, www.blog.priortax.com/audited-irs-mean/.
  49. “What Does It Mean to Be Audited?” H&R Block, 9 June 2020, www.hrblock.com/tax-center/irs/audits-and-tax-notices/what-does-it-mean-to-be-audited/.
  50. “What Does It Mean to Get Audited?” Optima Tax Relief, www.optimataxrelief.com/irs-audit-series-mean-get-audited/.